Category Archives: PLAI Officers

Elected HOD & NBOT Officers, 2009-2010

Presided by Mrs. Susima Gonzales as Interim HOD Chair and by virtue of the new PLAI Bylaws of 2007 submitted to SEC in May 2008, she convened the House Of Delegates (HOD) on November 21, 2008 at Grand Men Seng Hotel wherein 33 out of 48 members [3 per Regional Council (RC) x 16 RC] were present in a general meeting to elect the officers of the House and NBOT.

In a motion by Rene Manlangit before the election of HOD officers, the body duly recognized the presence of three past PLAI President in that close-door meeting, namely: Atty. Antonio Santos (also the 1st HOD Chair), Prudenciana Cruz and Tess Moran whom Ms. Gonzales invited earlier to the meeting but failed to introduced their presence/official business in that HOD meeting.

The body then elected the 2 officers of the HOD with a lightning speed. Mr. Dante Perez as the elected HOD Chair clarified if he could already preside the election of NBOT officers to which the Interim HOD chair declined to yield power and proceeded with equal lightning speed the nomination for NBOT President.

Again Mr. Rene Manlangit raised an urgent motion to limit the nominee(s) of President & Vice President from among the elected Regional Council President & Vice President only thus preserving the harmonious and hierarchical order of Regional Council and prevent a 3rd member of HOD theoretically (e.g. Sec, Treas, Auditor or simply a member) being elected as NBOT President. The body approved the motion by a majority vote of 20 in favor and 10 against with 3 abstention.

The elected officers of the House of Delegates are:

Chair R. Dante O. Perez (IRLC)
Virgin Milagrosa University Foundation
San Carlos City, Pangasinan
Vice Chair
Rene B. Manlangit (STRLC)
San Pablo Colleges
San Pablo City, Laguna
Audrey G. Anday (STRLC)
University of the Philippines Open University
Los Baños, Laguna

The elected officers National Board of Trustees (NBOT) are:

President Lilia F. Echiverri (NCRLC)
UP Law Library
Diliman, QC
Executive Vice President
Dr. Marilou P. Tadlip (CeVRLC)
University of San Carlos
Cebu City
Vice President-Luzon Dr. Nora J. Claravall (NCRLC)
España, Manila
Vice President-Visayas Hinie S. Gonzales (WVRLC)
University of St. La Salle
Bacolod City
Vice President-Mindanao Myrna F. Acedera
Lourdes College
Treasurer Belen Vibar (NCRLC)
University of Asia & the Pacific
Pasig City
Auditor Africa R. Castillo (CLRLC)
Angeles University Foundation
Angeles City
PRO Claudette V. Albano
Xavier University
Cagayan de Oro City
Board of Directors Dr. Enrique T. Cayaban (CaVRLC)
St. Mary’s University
Bayombong, Nueva Viscaya

Virginia C. Ramos (CLRLC)
Wesleyan University-Philippines
Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija

Sonia S. Isip (IRLC)
Agoo, La Union

Rainera Boholst (CeVRLC)
Cebu Institute of Technology
Cebu City

Dr. Ma. Teresa P. Baylon (CarRLC)
Philippine Normal University
Proseperidad, Agusan del Sur

Benhur A. Asid (WMRLC)
Southern City Colleges
Zamboanga City

Marcial Batiancila (STRLC)
San Sebastian College-Recoletos
Cavite City