PAARL Awardees

Last Friday, January 25, 2008, I attended the PAARL 35th Annual General Assembly held at Jose Rizal University, Shaw Blvd., Mandaluyong City.

From the latest print copy of the newsletter, v.4 Oct-Dec 2007 issue (no e-copy yet available as of this posting in the PAARL website) I noticed that quite a number of active/paid PAARL members for 2007 are librarians (individual members and institution representatives) from Southern Tagalog Region provinces (STR). — 64 out of 496 or 12.3%

Towards the end of the one-day activity was the granting of PAARL Awards geared to inspire individual members that the association recognized and honored their professional achievement to help uplift the profession. This year’s awardees were as follows:

Outstanding Academic/
Research Librarian Award
Prudenciana Cruz
Director, National Library

Virginia Caintic*
Learning and Information Center
University of Mindanao
Bolton St., Davao City

Professional Service Award Sr. Ignatius Tal Placido
Head Librarian
St. Paul University-Manila
Lifetime Achievement Award Fe Angela Verzosa
Former PAARL, PLAI President,
PRC-BFL Awardee for 2006
Outstanding Library Program Award Herdin Program
Department of Science & Technology
Outstanding Library Award Silliman University Library System

Book dealers who have supported the various association activities for the year also received their plaques of appreciation from the outgoing board in recognition of their valuable contribution to the success of the said activities. (RBManlangit)

* UPDATED employment address as of 31 January 2008.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s